#MediaMonday – Marilyn Hawkes
September 24, 2018
September 26, 2018
Show all

AwardsSimilar to the Public Relations Society of America’s Copper Anvil awards, which recognize the best in PR programming, the Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards, presented by the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS), showcase excellence in TV news, from writing to production, editing, reporting and more.

Among this year’s highlights:

Longtime news anchor Kent Dana, now retired, was honored with the chapter’s Governors’ Award, recognizing his celebrated career.

Four were inducted into the chapter’s Silver Circle, honoring their quarter-century contributions:

  • Sports anchor/reporter Bruce Cooper, who has been with Channel 12 since 1986;
  • Reporter Mike Watkiss, who recently retired from Channel 3 after 21 years;
  • Joe Hengemuehler, a 28-year veteran of the broadcast industry; and
  • Tom Fergus, a multi-media journalist who has been at Channel 10 for more than 30 years.

Special to us: Former HMA team member Jennifer Stein, now the director of marketing and communications for the city of Peoria, whose team won an Emmy for a segment on its Peoria Channel 11 program, “Heart of Peoria.”

All the winners can be found here.  Congratulations to all.

Scott Hanson
Scott Hanson
President Scott is president of HMA Public Relations and a founding member of the Public Relations Global Network. He’s a Phoenix native, husband, father of two and a fan of all sports and a participant in some. Check out Scott's full bio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *