#MediaMonday – Rocky Mountain Emmys

Document8On Saturday, more than 600 members of the television news industry from Arizona, New Mexico and Utah joined together at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess for the 2014 Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards.

The Vibe

The event was a feast for the eyes, starting from the moment guests walked in, where a life-sized “Emmy” greeted them (not kidding – see photo!). Then, after smiling for the professional photographer for your requisite paparazzi shots, guests had the opportunity to play the Emmy’s first-ever “Blind Wine Pull” game, where for a donation to the scholarship program, they could choose one (or more) from 250 amazing wines to take home. Given the bottles were donated by Su Vino Winery, Page Springs Winery, Pillsbury Winery, Alcanterra Winery, Oak Creek Winery, Postino’s, Fry’s Sprouts and FnB (not to mention several great PR partners such as us, Margo Media, Awe Collective, HDE Agency and more), everyone was a winner.

But, that’s not all!

Guests at the event also had the chance to kick up their heels, thanks to sponsor Clique Photo Station and their crowd-pleasing, prop-heavy photography, as well as a digital caricaturist, live entertainment from the NAU Elevation singing group and a silent auction.

And finally, when guests entered the expansive ballroom, gift bag sponsor BoomPromo had high-end gift bags waiting with goodies from additional amazing sponsors across the Valley and beyond.

The Winners

The evening only got better for our local and regional news stations and sports teams, as honorees were named in more than 90 categories. Just some of the winners included:

  • Scripp’s The List (both the show and its team were winners in multiple categories)
  • 3TV’s Good Morning Arizona and Weather Team
  • ABC 15’s Dave Biscobing, Amber Sullins, Lauren Gilger and Maria Tomasch as well as ABC 15 Mornings and Let Joe Know
  • Arizona Game & Fish Department’s Wildlife Views
  • NAU-TV
  • Eight’s Check, Please!
  • Fox 10’s John Hook and Troy Hayden
  • 12 News’ Kacie Talamante, Emma Jade, Lin Sue Cooney and Mark Curtis
  • CBS 5’s Katie Baker and Greg Argos
  • Fox Sports Arizona’s Todd Walsh
  • KGUN’s Jason Barr
  • KVOA’s Creative Services Team
  • Phoenix Suns’ Bob Adlhoch
  • Arizona Cardinals’ Richard Mendez
  • The Lavidge Company

ABC 15 also took home honors for overall News Excellence, while both Univision Arizona’s education campaign and Arizona State University’s Jim Dove, chief engineer at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications, were honored with Governor’s Awards, respectively.

The 2014 Silver Circle recipients being honored were:

  • Dan Barr, Perkins Coie Phoenix
  • Mark Curtis, KPNX 12 News Arizona
  • Dave Fox, KUTV 2-News Salt Lake City
  • Jeff Halberg, Eight Arizona PBS
  • Mary Nickles, KUTV 2-News Salt Lake City
  • Nadine Wimmer, KLS TV Salt Lake City

The chapter established its Silver Circle Society in 1992. To be eligible for the Silver Circle honor, individuals must have served in the broadcast industry for a minimum of 25 years. Nominations are accepted from broadcast journalism, talent, creative, technical, administrative, as well as TV commercial production and TV education.

The 2014 Gold Circle recipient being honored was:

  • Manny Garcia, RightThisMinute

To be eligible for the Gold Circle, individuals must have served in the industry for a minimum of 50 years, within the same categories as the silver circle. The Gold Circle Society was established in 2005.

Get More

For a full list of the evenings winners, please click here. To see photos from the event, please click here.

Written by
at Oct 20, 2014

Share this article