#MediaMonday – Rocky Mountain Emmy Winners Shout-Out Edition

A HUGE congratulations to the many amazing media friends of ours who took home coveted Emmy Awards during this past weekend’s Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards, honoring the best and brightest in television broadcasting in the region.
As secretary of the local Emmy board, and member of the Emmy committee, some special mentions from the big night that I didn’t get a chance to make in person:
To fellow board members Bob Adlhoch of the Phoenix Suns and Tim Delaney of the Arizona Cardinals, both winners three times over on Saturday, you are the class of basketball and football broadcasting, respectively.
To Kacie Talamente of 12 News, a two-time winner, I am just so honored to have shared bridesmaid honors for my cousin Linsey with a star like you!
To fellow board member Bob Case of The Lavidge Company, a winner for his work on the Addy Award production, I think you know more about animation than Walt Disney himself.
To Jason Barry of CBS 5 News, a winner for a school/educational feature story, you are always a friend to PRSA and still the bearer of some of the best advice I’ve ever received from a news pro.
To fellow board member Pete Costello of Cox Media, a winner for short form photography, of course you – again – had the most sought-after auction items at the whole event!
To Jodie Heisner of Scripps, who was amongst the most stylish of the evening and a winner twice over for her amazing magazine program and feature work, you and your hubby Jeff might very well be my very favorite “media couple” of all.
To fellow board member Bill Ottinger and former board member Shane Sisson, who both won for their work on 3TV’s news promos, Bill also gets the award for best date (his daughter, Madison) and Shane gets the award for the most missed (he moved to Miami a few weeks ago).
To NAU TV, who had a beloved professor honored and took home their own awards, a big WOO HOO to your very spirited tables last night…now THAT is Lumberjack Pride!
To one of my favorite Words with Friends buddies, Josh Kelman of Fox Sports Arizona, a winner for his work on a Todd Graham special AND a Matt Williams special, my mom is even more in love with you than before.
To new board member, Suzanne Guery of Eight Arizona PBS, who took home an Emmy for Check, Please!, what a great way to welcome you to our family…with one of the biggest awards of the night! This is a big ditto for less-recent-but-still-newish board member Carol Lynde of Arizona Game & Fish, who was honored with three Emmys for her work at the event.
To Michelle Germano of KOLD TV, a winner for her work covering the 2012 Monsoon, I still cannot believe we have not met in person. Here is to one of my favorite email media friends – and it is almost time to talk Arizona Gives Day again!
To fellow board member Brien McElhatten of Scripps/ABC 15, a winner for his work on the The List, you may have been the best presenter of the night. You were a highlight I cheered on from the silent auction tables – and wow, did you present in like 100 categories or what!?
To Cronkite NewsWatch, winners in a couple categories, way to make my alma mater proud! Hooray for the Cronkite School!
To Paul Horton of CBS 5, who’s “Paul’s Car Wash” was honored with the Governor’s Award, consider us on our way to the car wash right now. Readers – you should too! Here is how.
To Rick D’Amico of FOX 10, an inductee to the Silver Circle Society, a morning without you on AZ AM is like a morning without coffee – and props to giving Jen Doan a shout-out during your speech!
To Mark Curtis of 12 News, a winner in multiple categories, you still have the best moustache I have ever seen.
To “Z” and the CBS 5 Investigates Team, winners for their work twice over, keep on holding the powerful accountable, but always keep that happy smile!
To ABC 15 – a big ole WOW to the Station Excellence honor. Well-deserved!
And, of course, a HUGE round of applause to the rest of the Emmy Committee, our new president Theresa Maher, first-time Emmy producer Jennifer Doan of FOX 10 and the QUEEN of the Rocky Mountain Emmys, our chapter exec director Lara Gates.
For a complete list of winners, be sure to click here. And be sure to send your buds a note of congratulations too!

Written by
at Oct 21, 2013

Share this article