Sherry Appleby recognized for her dedication in serving the deaf and hard of hearing communities

(Yuma, Ariz.) – The Arizona Commission for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing (ACDHH) Commissioner and Yuma resident Sherry Appleby has been recognized by the Hearing Healthcare Providers of Arizona (HHPA) with the Roger Andrus Memorial Award. Appleby, who has been a hearing aid dispenser for 45 years and spent 30 years on the Board Certified Hearing Instrument Specialists, is only the third recipient of the Roger Andrus Memorial Award since its inception 12 years ago. The award honors a person’s long-term commitment to advocating on behalf of the deaf and hard of hearing.  “This year, the International Hearing Society’s annual convention was held in Arizona, so we were thrilled to honor Sherry for her work, in her home state,” said Joel Cmiel, president of the HHPA Arizona Chapter. The award is named after Arizona Department of Health Services program manager, Roger Andrus. His passion for the health and well-being our Arizona’s citizens inspired this award. In addition to her work with ACDHH, Appleby is also involved in the Hearing Loss Association of America – Yuma Chapter, is past president of the Yuma County Chamber of Commerce, and was named American Business Woman of the Year in 1983. For more information on ACDHH visit ABOUT ACDHH: Established in 1977 to improve the quality of life for deaf and hard of hearing residents,   ACDHH serves as a statewide information referral center for issues related to people with hearing loss and aspires to be a national leader in communication access, support services and community empowerment throughout the state. The purpose of the organization, and its commissioners, is to ensure, in partnership with the public and private sector, accessibility for the deaf and hard of hearing to improve their quality of life. Commissioners include Chris Schneck, Juliann Wasisco, Sherry Appleby, David Curry, Tina Duresky, Robert Hill, Robert Kirschbaum, Sue Kay Kneifel, Tom Muller, Maureen D. Sydnor, Kathy Ann Roadlander and Roslyn R. Seibold. # # #

Written by
at Oct 30, 2014

Share this article