2014 Rocky Mountain Emmy Nominees Announced; Emmys to be awarded October 18 at Scottsdale Fairmont Princess

Ak-Chin Indian Community Project Named 2014 Water Reuse Project of the Year
October 30, 2014
Partnership Works to Ensure Whole Community Preparedness
October 30, 2014

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) is pleased to announce the 2014 Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards will take place on Saturday, October 18 at the Scottsdale Fairmont Princess. During the gala event, Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards will be presented in more than 90 television, production and creative communications categories. Nominees in these categories include: KTVK TV 3, CBS 5, FOX 10, 12 News, ABC 15, Cronkite News Service, Telemundo, NAU TV, KUAT TV, COX Media, Republic Media, Tempe 11, The Lavidge Company, Eight Arizona PBS, Univision, Arizona, Arizona Cardinals, Phoenix Suns, Utah Jazz, Fox Sports Arizona, KOLD 13, KGUN 9, BYU Television and many more.

For a full list of this year’s nominees by category, please click here.

“The Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards is not a competition in the traditional sense. Entries do not compete against each other. Rather, each is judged individually on its own merit against a standard of excellence,” said Theresa Maher, president of NATAS. “There is no greater honor the Chapter can bestow on its members. The Emmy statuette symbolizes the excellence for which we all strive.”

Tickets, which start at $100 for individual seating and $900 for tables of 10, are available at RockyMountainEmmy.org. Sponsorships are also available.

The Rocky Mountain Emmys will also induct new members of the Silver and Gold Circle Societies, respectively, during the event.

The 2014 Silver Circle recipients being honored are:

·         Dan Barr, Perkins Coie Phoenix

·         Mark Curtis, KPNX 12 News Arizona

·         Dave Fox, KUTV 2-News Salt Lake City

·         Jeff Halberg, Eight Arizona PBS

·         Mary Nickles, KUTV 2-News Salt Lake City

·         Nadine Wimmer, KLS TV Salt Lake City

The chapter established its Silver Circle Society in 1992. To be eligible for the Silver Circle honor, individuals must have served in the broadcast industry for a minimum of 25 years. Nominations are accepted from broadcast journalism, talent, creative, technical, administrative, as well as TV commercial production and TV education. 

The 2014 Gold Circle recipient being honored is:

·         Manny Garcia, RightThisMinute

To be eligible for the Gold Circle, individuals must have served in the industry for a minimum of 50 years, within the same categories as the silver circle. The Gold Circle Society was established in 2005. 

Each year, the chapter also looks to recognize an entity for going above and beyond its telecommunications mission with the Governor’s Award, which is the highest award our chapter gives to a unique individual, organization or station. Past recipients have ranged from technical innovations to public service programs. This year, the Rocky Mountain Emmys will honor Univision Arizona’s education campaign as well as Arizona State University’s Jim Dove, chief engineer at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications, with Governor’s Awards, respectively.

NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter, formed in 1959, represents Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming, and El Centro, Calif. www.rockymountainemmy.org

HMA Public Relations
HMA Public Relations
We’ve been creating in-depth, personally crafted campaigns to reach benchmarked milestones and goals since 1980. While the tools of our trade have evolved over the years, our strategies remain unwavering.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *